Canyons

(“Canyons” explores the struggle of a writer’s when inspiration becomes elusive. One of my processes to overcome Writer’s Block is simply writing about Writer’s Block [that’s jarring], and the other is revisiting old, often incomplete, works in hope that something within me will revive and words will just flow again. Canyons is a product of option one but depicts the latter process. As always, questions, comments, and feedback are welcomed and encouraged. Enjoy!)



Timidly,

I trudge toward the tattered table

and plop down.

The stainless steel seat sends shivers up my spine.


These stacks of unfinished works form a canyon,

and when rummaging through the hoard

in search of inspiration—a voyage ensues.


Descending into a darkened valley of Despair,

Desperation drags me deeper and deeper


until empathy sides with the parent mourning the stillborn.

I, the creator, gaze at each underdeveloped

fetus, my creations.


Bitterness, Resentment,

or another similar demon possesses my mind

as I observe this barren wasteland.


Can you concede this was once a canvas?

Here, I created,

and now it lies there,

a lifeless pit.

Leave a comment